View previous topic | View next topic

Octopodes

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Captain Caveman
256119.  Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:12 am Reply with quote

I'm new to this but was reading Animal Ignorance last night where it stated that:
"Octopus enjoy the same status in labs as vertebrates"

In fact there are two species of octopus in UK waters, the common octopus, octopus vulgaris, and the more widely distributed curled octopus eledone cirrhosa. Only the common octopus enjoys protection in the UK which inevitably means scientists looking to experiment on octopodes use the curled octopus as there is less 'red tape'.

lungay009
256332.  Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:05 am Reply with quote

I wonder if they're ticklish like rats too?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myuceywaOUs&feature=relatedpost

Ameena
256622.  Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:57 pm Reply with quote

Omfg that is sooo cute :D.

General_Woundwort
260538.  Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:20 pm Reply with quote

Can I be the one to suggest that Stephen actually said that, if anything, the plural would be octopodes. But it's not.

exnihilo
260575.  Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:53 pm Reply with quote

Except that it is, or at least a valid alternative to octopuses, as has been discussed at length before now.

General_Woundwort
260591.  Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:21 pm Reply with quote

Point taken. But where does it end, I took Stephen to be saying. At some point the word in English, even if it's from Gaelic or German or Malay, takes on English rules.

If anything, the Latin would be octopedes. Even much of actual Latin in English often sounds odd when pluralized, such as fora. I see the one about hippos has been done to death. At least octopi would be correct if the word were 2nd declension Latin. Other cringworthy attempts I've heard include prospecti - shurely prospectus-with-macron - and, shudderingly, rhinoceri.

Flash
260623.  Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:15 pm Reply with quote

General_Woundwort wrote:
If anything, the Latin would be octopedes.