View previous topic | View next topic

Explosions

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Tas
81393.  Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:18 am Reply with quote

Click on the link below, for details of a very large explosion that takes place every few decades.

http://www.redorbit.com/news/space/461882/exploding_star_within_a_star__a_recurrent_nova/index.html

QI, if you like astronomical phenomena. Anyone know of any other QI explosions?

:-)

Tas

Flash
81503.  Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:07 pm Reply with quote

From the huge to the ridiculous, there's the Bombardier Beetle and his exploding bottom to consider: post 2291.

Jenny
81527.  Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:56 pm Reply with quote

I have a fondness for the bombardier beetle.

Kevino7
81615.  Tue Jul 25, 2006 8:35 am Reply with quote

I remember that the show Brainiac had explosions which different chemicals to produce different coloured flames. I suppose if I could find a list ( ;) ). It would be QI

Tas
81637.  Tue Jul 25, 2006 10:23 am Reply with quote

Copper is Green
Iron (I imagine) is Red

any advances from chemsitry boffins or elves?

Tas

suze
81645.  Tue Jul 25, 2006 10:39 am Reply with quote

I'm neither of the above, but I used to like chemistry class - it could have been my next choice for my university subject.

And this sounds very much like the "flame test" - an elementary qualitative analysis technique. All you had to do was put a bit of powder on a wire and then stick it in the flame - and depending what colour the flame was, it told you what metal was present.

IIRC sodium is yellow/orange, potassium is pink/purple and calcium is red. Copper was either green or blue - I can't remember the details, but I suspect one colour indicated Cu+ and the other Cu2+.

I can't remember the results for iron either, but I do recall that one performed some other test to distinguish between Fe2+ and Fe3+.

samivel
81694.  Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:20 pm Reply with quote

I enjoyed dropping lumps of potassium in water. That was a good explosion.