View previous topic | View next topic

Hello!

Page 1 of 1

betterthantoday
1272672.  Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:38 am Reply with quote

Hello! I am new here - though have listened to NSTAAF for ages, now - and I'm a Puzzle Editor (which is a real job! Hear that, mum and dad?) so I write crosswords and all sorts. It is probably the worst nightmare of many people *but* it does mean I come across things that I find quite interesting quite often. But then, I'm easily pleased.

I didn't actually know which forum to post this question on - I was going to write something about selfies, which have existed since at least 1643. The OED just introduced 'selfy/selfie' - not the photograph type, obvs - meaning 'self-centred, selfish'. It's probably more appropriate now written as self-y.

I'm making a bit of a leap with assuming a noun form would have been 'a selfie' as in a selfish person, but I was wondering - are there any other words that have become pretty much obsolete and then come back as something different? Words often change meaning, but I don't know of many others that leave entirely and then get coincidentally reincarnated. I did Google ancient hashtags and mansplainers, to no avail...

GuyBarry
1272673.  Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:04 am Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum. How about "robot"? (I only discovered this while looking something up for another thread on the forum.)

https://interestingliterature.com/2016/03/14/the-curious-origin-of-the-word-robot/

Quote: