View previous topic | View next topic

I before E except after C

Page 1 of 1

mistyhorizon2003
1006829.  Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:02 pm Reply with quote

My apologies if this topic has been raised before now, but this is my first time on the forums here. Essentially I need help/proof of what Stephen Fry said on an episode of QI about the 'i before e except after c' rule being incorrect in the majority of cases.

Basically I am in the middle of a debate with an acquaintance in the US (I am British), over the 'i before e except after c' rule. I quoted the fact this was inaccurate based on the QI episode and the information on the subject Stephen Fry provided. She just won't accept this and makes points about plurals not counting as good examples and makes statements like:

"It's a helpful rule in my eyes, and he is trying to prove a point that the evidence just doesn't support.".

"But aren't most of those "cie" words 2 syllables? I don't even consider them when thinking about the rule. The rule has always helped me, because I think it covers a majority of certain types of words. "

"With the rule applied correctly with the known exceptions (certain syllable combinations), teaching children the rule is helpful more often than not, as they will be correct about 90% of the time. Interesting."

"Well, I think the full rule does apply much of the time, and it's a great way for school kids learning to spell to remember how to spell the majority of common words."