View previous topic | View next topic

Help? A Book Mentioned in Ep.2?

Page 1 of 1

Ahti
759429.  Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:50 am Reply with quote

Hello,

I hope I'm posting in the right area and not bothering you too much. I was wondering if anyone could tell me the name of the author Stephen mentiones in episode 2 (H Anatomy)? It's around 8:30 and the question starts of Proust's handshake, Gyles Brandreth then talks about homosexuality and visiting Africa and mistakes Proust for this author whose name I'm looking for.

I'm sorry if I sound inattentive or stupid, but it is a bit difficult to listen such a fast-paced show in a language that's not my native one, and throw in some French and I'm totally confused. I think the name of the book Stephen mentions he wrote is "Corridor", but I couldn't find anything by only that one word. I'm a literary student and always looking for interesting books to read.

Thanks so much for your help.

Moosh
759432.  Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:00 am Reply with quote

I remember them talking about Proust's Ŕ la recherche du temps perdu for a while in that episode, is that what you were thinking of?

Ahti
759440.  Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:32 am Reply with quote

Thanks, but that wasn't the one I was looking for. I know Proust but this was apparently some other Frenchman.

suze
759449.  Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:53 am Reply with quote

André Gide. Stephen asserts that M Gide invented the word "homosexual" for his book Corydon (1924) (which book is a serious of discourses on homosexuality).

In fact, Stephen is wrong here. The first citation we have for "homosexual" is from 1892, in a translation by the American neurologist Charles G Chaddock of a German work called Psychopathia sexualis (by Richard, Baron von Krafft-Ebbing (1886)).

hassan el kebir
759497.  Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:44 pm Reply with quote

Quote:
a German work called Psychopathia sexualis (by Richard, Baron von Krafft-Ebbing (1886)).