View previous topic | View next topic

How Does ice skating work??

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

johnnyd
689655.  Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:44 am Reply with quote

I am an applied physics student doing a thermal physics module and my lecturer pointed out that mathematically that a person could not excert enough force on the ground to create a thin film of water to skate on.
any ideas??

djgordy
689656.  Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:52 am Reply with quote

Quote:
(Professor Gabor) Somorjai's recent discoveries have explained why skaters and pucks slide on the ice. These new findings challenge long-held theories about why ice is slippery. In the past, scientists believed that either pressure or friction melted the ice, creating a water lubricant that allows skates and pucks to slide. Berkeley chemist Michel van Hove, a colleague of Somorjai's, has done calculations which show that skates and pucks do not generate enough pressure to instantly liquefy ice. Somorjai has discovered that ice has a "quasi-fluid layer" that coats the surface of ice and makes it slippery.

More info on the link to the whole article.
http://www.exploratorium.com/hockey/ice2.html

I still think that that invisible ice elves push you along but the scientific community is so narrow minded that I haven't, as yet, managed to get a grant to prove this.

RLDavies
689713.  Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:56 am Reply with quote

From DJGordy's link:
Quote:
Professor Somorjai's findings indicate that ice itself is slippery.

Quelle surprise.
From my extremely limited experience (one trip to the rink), ice skating consists of falling over every few seconds. Especially if there's a puddle nearby you can land in. Maybe somebody can do a study on the irresistible force of attraction exerted by puddles on skaters.

Neotenic
689720.  Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:17 am Reply with quote

This reminds me of the 'theoretically speaking, bees shouldn't be able to fly' thing.