View previous topic | View next topic

Alpha males

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Catherine8
532209.  Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:55 pm Reply with quote

Hello QI-ers. I don't post very often, but it is nice to know there is somewhere I can go to ask intelligent questions.

Is the theory of Alpha males true? Does it apply more to adolescents than adult males?

I am asking this because I work as a support assistant in the construction deparment of an FE college. As you can imagine, 90% of the students are male. One of my groups, previously well behaved, started acting up and I asked their lecturers why. They said it was because the alpha male student had left the course and the others were all in fighting to decide who was the next alpha male and what their places in the hierarchy were.

I think this is really interesting. The previous Alpha male of the group was really bossy, intimidating and threatening, and although the other boys took the mickey out of him, they were very aware of him all the time, especially as he was nearly 19 and they were 16/ 17.

I thought there was no obvious Alpha male candidate to take over from him, but I think there is one emerging. He is a very different character- much more intelligent and manipulative than the previous one and less obvious. I only realised this because I noticed that if you keep him happy, the rest of the group is happy, but if he doesn't get respect and attention, he screws up the whole lesson. And he's 18, so yet again, a bit older than the 16/ 17 year olds.

Anyway, sorry for the long winded post from the wannabe sociologist/ psychologist. Any comments/ observations? :)

Sadurian Mike
532229.  Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:46 pm Reply with quote

However you choose to label it, there are certainly men (and women) who are the centre of any group. There are also those who want to be the centre of attention, and usually end up just being annoying pr*cks.