View previous topic | View next topic

the pope's testicles...

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

zoewaterman
381912.  Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:39 pm Reply with quote

hey, was just wondering, does anyone remember an episode of QI where they were discussing a latin phrase that was used when a new pope was elected. cant remember exactly but it was something like the pope has testicles. to make sure he was male?
sorry if I am in the wrong forum, its my first time here.
This has been niggling me for ages, hope someone can help!
cheers
zoe xxx

Ameena
381916.  Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:53 pm Reply with quote

Yeah, can't remember the Latin, but the English translation was something like "He has balls and they are hanging well". Can't remember what episode but might have been Series C...

zoewaterman
381917.  Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:58 pm Reply with quote

oh cheers thanks.
found the info now if anyone is interested.

"sone due, et bene pendente", there are two, and hanging well, or "testiculos habet, et bene pendente", he has balls, and they're hanging well.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/1026276/Pope-and-his-balls-and-other-stories

http://emmering.blogspot.com/2005/04/bene-pendente.html

tetsabb
381919.  Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:59 pm Reply with quote

Welcome to these hallowed halls, zoewaterman.

A quick Google has given me this about the story of Pope Joan, and the alleged origin of the check on a newly-elected Pope's tackle.
http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~pardos/PopeJoan2.html
Doesn't mention the Latin version either, but QI, nonetheless.

And this
http://www.haribird.com/news2C14.htm
does have a Latin translation "testiculos habet", but also another explanation of the strange chair the new Pope is carried in.

There appears to be considerable doubt as to whether there ever was a female Pope.
And a question -- why all the fuss, if he is not allowed to use them?
(Asks the cynical ex-Catholic)

Jenny
381960.  Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:01 pm Reply with quote

Welcome zoewaterman :-)

Tas