View previous topic | View next topic

Sneezes

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Sadurian Mike
361095.  Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:44 pm Reply with quote

It is often said that you cannot sneeze without closing your eyes, at least for a millisecond.

I have no photographic proof nor independent witnesses, but I have managed to keep my eyes open during a sneeze without using gaffer tape or G-clamps.

I am not sure if this makes it QI or just makes me a sad git for wanting to do it in the first place.

maiden
361099.  Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:49 pm Reply with quote

Doesn't it depend on the 'force' of the sneeze Mike?

I'm no expert, but having sneezed 'lightly' before (maybe it was only a 'half-sneeze'), I've managed to keep my eyes open, but for full-throttle sneezes (the ones where half your lung goes flying out, usually along with a bucket of phlegm), i automatically close my eyes for those ones.

Bondee
361139.  Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:34 pm Reply with quote

What made you think of that Mike?
: )

djgordy
361143.  Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:36 pm Reply with quote

The reason you supposedly cannot sneeze with your eyes open is that the sneezing is a reflex which is linked with other involuntary actions, one of which is blinking.

As with a lot of reflexes though, some people are able to overcome them and some people just may not have them.

The common myth is that if you sneeze with your eyes open your eyeballs will pop out of their sockets but this is just an urban myth.

http://sxxz.blogspot.com/2004/12/sneeze-science.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzflMcQIdBo&feature=related

Sadurian Mike
361159.  Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:50 pm Reply with quote

djgordy wrote:
The common myth is that if you sneeze with your eyes open your eyeballs will pop out of their sockets but this is just an urban myth.

Not for me. I now have to keep them in a golf-ball case floating in saline.

It's dark in here.

Sadurian Mike
361160.  Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:50 pm Reply with quote

Bondee wrote: